Last Updated: Jan 11, 2018
Download the MackinVIA app, too!
Here are some websites that you may find helpful in your research
- Ancient History Encyclopedia
Online encyclopedia of ancient history topics. Articles are well-researched and authors have impressive credentials. Look at the bottom of the article to find the citation. Does have ads that pop up.
- Best of History Websites
This website lists a collection of websites on a variety of World History topics. Use the menu on the left to navigate to your topic. Then explore the sites listed. If you go to the Research page, you can find links to many primary source websites.
- Internet History Sourcebook
The Internet History Sourcebooks Project is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use.
- World History Project Topics
Looking for a topic idea? This list might be a great place to start.
You will need passwords to access our subscription resources from home. Passwords can be found in the Media Center Canvas Course.
- History Reference Center
This database features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books. It also includes full text for more than 200 leading history periodicals. EBSCO password needed for remote access.
- Explora Teens
Contains middle and high school-appropriate magazine, journal, and encyclopedia articles and also includes primary source documents, reference books, and multimedia. Includes Middle Search Plus, MAS Ultra - School Edition, Consumer Health Complete, Health Source - Consumer Edition, and Science Reference Center databases. EBSCO password needed for remote access.
- Student Edition
Containing over 1,300 titles, cross searchable with E-Books, this periodical database is designed for high-school students with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more. This is part of the Gale database, but narrows the results for easier reading by high school students. Gale password needed for remote access.
- *All EBSCO databases and ebooks
Search all 21 databases. Click the select all button in the top left corner or click on an individual database name. If you aren't sure which database to search, look further down the list where databases are listed and described individually. EBSCO password needed for Remote Access.
- *All Gale Infotrac Power Search databases and ebooks
Search 14 databases and an ebook collection. If you aren't sure which database to search, look further down the list where databases are listed and described individually. Gale password required for Remote Access.
- Britannica Academic Encyclopedia
Britannica Academic Encyclopedia is an encyclopedia includes higher level information than the School Edition listed below. Encyclopedias are a great place to get background information on a topic. Password required for remote access.
- Britannica School Edition Encyclopedia
Search elementary, middle and high school levels of information in this encyclopedia. Encyclopedias are a great place to get background information on a topic.Password required for remote access.
- Discovering Collection
Search from general encyclopedias as well as subject-specific reference materials. This is a good place to start learning about a topic. You can search using your own terms or choose from the topic list on the site. Primary sources and multimedia resources are also available. Gale password needed for remote access.
- Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Search the encyclopedia for overview information on a topic. EBSCO password needed for remote access.