Today, AP employs the latest technology to collect and distribute content - we have daily uploads covering the latest and breaking news in the world of politics, sport and entertainment.
View AP Archive’s videos via this channel – the collection offers 1.7 million global news and entertainment video stories, which date back to 1895.
British Movietone is arguably the world's greatest newsreel archive, spanning the period 1895 to 1986.
Discover British Movietone’s newsreel archive, which contains many of the world’s enduring images and is rich in coverage of news events, celebrities, sports, music, social history, science, lifestyle and quirky, via this channel.
Royalty Free images from Associated Press
Students can create an account and find video and still image resources. Videos may be available for download, check for a download button under the specific video.
Getty Images Archive - not all images are free.
Free instrumental music to use on projects.
The digital collection allows access to millions of digital photographs, audio files and primary source documents. Search for audio files of famous speeches and digital images including posters created for specific historical events.
This site lists images by popular topic. Look for your historical event.
To cite images and other information from the Library of Congress website, look at their examples here.
Downloading videos and other digital files
There are websites you can use to download content from the web. *** Disclaimer - some of these websites may not work at school. *** Use a computer to download these digital files. These services will not work on an iPad consistently.
keepvid.com (copy and paste into the address bar) - allows students to download YOUTUBE videos and/or mp3 files (audio from a video) to use in their project.
www.clipconverter.cc (copy and paste into the address bar) - allows students to download videos and/or mp3 files to use in their project.
http://en.savefrom.net/ - allows students to download video and/or other digital files from different hosting sites for their project.
http://catchvideo.net/en - allows students to download video and/or other digital files from different sites for their project.
1) Write your script and storyboard
Write your script and create a storyboard for you project.
The more time you take to plan during this step the easier it will be to put your project together.
Download this storyboard to your iPad or print it from a computer. This will allow you to plan for video and pictures related to your script (audio narrative).
2) Research & Locate Photos, Videos and other Media Files
Locate videos, photos, audio files and other related content for your digital project. There are many resources available to WHS students to use in their project.
Check out the resources listed on the left side of the page for specific links and directions. All videos should be downloaded using a computer for successful results.
Youtube - if you need to use youtube - follow the directions in the left menu to download videos from youtube
PBS - there are videos you may download from the PBS website - follow the directions on the website
You may use any of those resources. Some may require you to create an account - we suggest you use your ISD284 account and password to make it easy to remember.
Pictures can be downloaded from the websites on the left. Using the iPad you may tap and hold on a picture and save to the camera roll. Saving all files to the camera roll will allow for faster import into iMovie.
Library of Congress - use the resource links in the left menu of this webpage to access historical photos from the Library of Congress or search loc photo of "your topic"
Getty Images Archive - www.gettyimages.com/editorialimages/archival
Associated Press Royalty Free Images - http://www.apimages.com/Royalty-Free-Images?ss=100527
Creative Commons - download pictures that are licensed to be used freely using http://search.creativecommons.org/
Smithsonian Institute Image Gallery - http://sirismm.si.edu/siris/sirisimagegallery.htm
If students are creating the digital project with the iPad save all digital files using the directions below:
Create a folder in your ISD284 Google Drive account and start saving your files to this folder. If all items are saved in this folder they will be accessible on the iPad to create your digital project.
If students are creating the digital project with the computer save all digital files using the directions below:
Create a folder in your ISD284 Google Drive account and start saving your files to this folder. If all items are saved in this folder they will be accessible from anywhere and from any computer you might be using for this project.
3) Saving Content for your presentation
Students should use a computer to save the videos, images and/or audio file to the proper place depending on how you are creating the video.
Students may save their multimedia files to one of the following places:
- if using iMovie on the iPad save to your Google Drive folder
- if creating the digital project on the computer save to a Google Drive folder.
YouTube Videos and Music
Students may find content on Youtube to use in their projects.
Using an online website students are able to save the youtube videos / music for use in their projects.
Students - please use a computer to save the video files to your google drive folders.
Once files are saved to the Google drive folder they can be accessed by downloading to the camera roll on the iPad.
4) Creating your digital project
Download all digital files to the iPad - iMovie app. Directions for Downloading files to the iMovie App
iMovie for iPad - check out the next section for iMovie directions