A - Z online resourcesTest Preparation
EL Research GuideFrancophone Countries ProjectGraphic Novel Character ResearchLiterary CriticismMythologyEnglish 10 Final Research ProjectSpanish - Holiday Customs ProjectHonors Mentor Connection
Applied English Life SkillsEAPPSSAGovernment & CitizenshipUS HistoryWorld History
Honors ReadingThe Voice - Student Literary Magazine
This is the "EAPPSSA" page of the "Trojan Media Center Home" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Trojan Media Center Home  

Last Updated: Jan 11, 2018 URL: http://libguides.wayzata.k12.mn.us/home Print Guide RSS Updates

EAPPSSA Print Page
  Search: 
 

Start With These Resources

You will need passwords to access our subscription resources from home. Passwords can be found in the Media Center Canvas Course.

  • SIRS Issues Researcher Database
    This is probably the very best place to start your project. Click on the "View All Issues" button to browse the A-Z list of Leading Issues to help you get started on a research project. The essential questions listed there will be very helpful to you. Besides the articles and reference sources listed, don't forget about the images and infographics for later in your project. ProQuest password needed for remote access.
  • Student Resources in Context
    This is a great place to get a whole picture of a topic. Encyclopedia articles for topic overviews, current magazine and journal articles, as well as video, images, and audio are all together in one place. Gale password needed for remote access. For best results, search for broader topics here rather than detailed issues. Scroll to the bottom of a topic page to find links to related websites - might be a good place to find an advocacy group.
  • USA.gov
    Search government documents, research, and websites. You will need a government source for your project. This is a great place to find one.
  • Pew Research Center
    Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes, and trends shaping America and the world. Are you looking for poll results, charts, or statistics? This is a great spot to find that.
  • VoteTocracy.com
    VoteTocracy is a place where every citizen can see every bill currently in Congress, vote on those bills, and send those votes to their representatives. Use the issue tab to follow your topic.
  • Newsstand Complete (Newspapers)
    Newspaper articles from hundreds of papers including the Minneapolis Star Tribune, St. Paul Pioneer Press, Sioux Falls Argus Leader, St. Cloud Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Barron's, USA Today, and many more. ProQuest password need for remote access.

As You Dig Deeper, Expand Your Searching

You will need passwords to access our subscription resources from home. Passwords can be found in the Media Center Canvas Course.

For EBSCO and Gale, be sure to use the limiters to narrow down your search results. Change the date range, select full text articles, and find your Academic Journal source by using the limiters.

  • *All EBSCO databases and ebooks
    Search all 21 databases. Click the select all button in the top left corner or click on an individual database name. If you aren't sure which database to search, look further down the list where databases are listed and described individually. EBSCO password needed for Remote Access.
  • *All Gale Infotrac Power Search databases and ebooks
    Search 14 databases and an ebook collection. If you aren't sure which database to search, look further down the list where databases are listed and described individually. Gale password required for Remote Access.
  • A-Z Online Resources
    Follow this link for a complete list of our online Media Center resources. You'll see the ones listed above, plus many more.
  • USAFacts.org
    USAFacts is a new data-driven portrait of the American population, our government’s finances, and government’s impact on society.
 

In-Person Help

Media Center Hours

Monday    7:30am - 4:00pm
Tuesday 7:30am - 4:00pm
Wednesday   
7:30am - 4:00pm
Thursday 7:30am - 4:00pm
Friday 7:30am - 4:00pm

  Email:  jennifer.samec@wayzata.k12.mn.us

 

Search the Online Catalog

Find:
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Advanced Search
 

Helpful Hints for Finding Your Advocacy Group

Looking for your advocacy group source? Here are some helpful hints!

 

Have you looked at eBooks?

We have eBooks in MackinVIA on the following topics - and more:

  • Drug Legalization
  • Cybersecurity
  • Gun Control
  • Biomedical Ethics
  • Climate Change
  • Medical Marijuana
  • Immigration Policy
  • Drinking Age
  • Capital Punishment
  • Gay Rights
  • Renewable Energy
  • Animal Experimentation
  • Stem Cell Research
  • Universal Healthcare

*Pro Tip - Search for Thinking Critically in MackinVIA to see a series of books we have that present essays on both sides of current topics. I know, it's amost too good to be true!

Happy Researching!

Mrs. Samec

 

Search Our ebook Collection

Download the MackinVIA app, too!

Help and Organization

Here are some websites that you may find helpful in your research

  • Purdue's OWL online writing lab
    MLA style guide and research help via email. The link is to the style guide.
  • AskMN
    Connect to a librarian for 24/7 help.
  • Homework Rescue
    Scroll to the bottom of the Hennepin County Library page for the Homework Help link. Don't forget about the writing help that is offered, too.
  • Plagiarism.org
    This site includes information about what constitutes plagiarism, how to accurately cite sources, and also includes a plagiarism check.
  • Dropbox
    You can use this to store notes and documents in the cloud so you can access them from anywhere online.
  • Evernote
    Another option for a note-taking, online storage place to help you stay organized and keep track of notes.
  • Bring Your Own Device
    You are welcome to bring your own device (laptop or tablet) to work your project. Follow the directions on this link to sign up for access to our wireless network.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip