- Academic Search Premier
Thousands of scholarly publications across all academic disciplines. Use this source if you want to find information in Academic Journals. EBSCO password needed for Remote Access.
- *All EBSCO databases and ebooks
Search all 21 databases. Click the select all button in the top left corner or click on an individual database name. If you aren't sure which database to search, look further down the list where databases are listed and described individually. EBSCO password needed for Remote Access.
- *All Gale Infotrac Power Search databases and ebooks
Search 14 databases and an ebook collection. If you aren't sure which database to search, look further down the list where databases are listed and described individually. Gale password required for Remote Access.
- AP Archive
The entire archive of the Associate Press is searchable on a YouTube channel. To be sure you're searching just AP Archive, click on the small search icon under the page header rather than the large search box at the top.
- Britannica Academic Encyclopedia
Britannica Academic Encyclopedia is an encyclopedia includes higher level information than the School Edition listed below. Password required for remote access.
- Britannica School Edition Encyclopedia
Search elementary, middle and high school levels of information in this encyclopedia. Password required for remote access.
- Business News, Regional
This database searches business-related publications. This includes newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, trade publications, magazines and newswires for the United States and Canadian provinces. Use this resource for business and political research. EBSCO password is needed for remote access.
- Business Source Premier
This database includes scholarly journals and trade publications across business-related subject areas. Besides journals, you can also find market research reports, industry reports, and company profiles. EBSCO password needed for remote access.
- Camio Art
Digital collection of works of art from dozens of museums around the world including the Minneapolis Institute of Arts and Walker Art Center.
- Consumer Health Complete
Popular and professionally written information for patients and consumers covering all health-related topics from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine. Includes Health Source: Consumer Edition and Alt Health Watch databases. EBSCO password needed for remote access.
- Critical Survey of Graphic Novels: Heroes & Superheroes
Provides access to 130 essays covering graphic novels and core comics series, with a focus on the hero/superhero genre. For remote access you will need the password from the Media Center.
- Critical Survey of Graphic Novels: History, Theme, & Technique
This reference contains over 65 essays covering themes and concepts of graphic novels, including genres, time periods, foreign language traditions, social relevance, and craftsmanship such as penciling and inking. For remote access you will need the password from the Media Center.
- Critical Survey of Graphic Novels: Independents & Underground Classics
The resource contains 215 essays covering graphic novels and core comics series, focusing on the independents and underground genre. For remote access you will need the password from the Media Center.
- Critical Survey of Graphic Novels: Manga
Provides in-depth insight for over 55 of the most popular manga graphic novels, ranging from metaseries to stand-alone books. For remote access you will need the password from the Media Center.
Use this site to find detailed information about states and countries. Password is required for home access.
- Discovering Collection
Search from general encyclopedias as well as subject-specific reference materials. This is a good place to start learning about a topic. You can search using your own terms or choose from the topic list on the site. Primary sources and multimedia resources are also available. Gale password needed for remote access.
The Education Resource Information Center provides access to educational literature and resources. Use this source if your topic has to do with education. EBSCO password needed for remote access.
- Educators Reference Complete
Full text journal articles and reports relating to the field of education. Use this database along with the E.R.I.C. database for education resource.
- Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM) Databases
These databases are provided by the MN legislature for all Minnesotans. Many of these are split out on our WHS resource page but there are a few unique ones that are not. The ebook collection holds over 11,000 titles. No password required within the state of Minnesota.
- Expanded Academic ASAP
From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images! Gale password needed for remote access.
- Explora Teens
Contains middle and high school-appropriate magazine, journal, and encyclopedia articles and also includes primary source documents, reference books, and multimedia. Includes Middle Search Plus, MAS Ultra - School Edition, Consumer Health Complete, Health Source - Consumer Edition, and Science Reference Center databases. EBSCO password needed for remote access.
- Hennepin County Library
Search for books and databases available through our public library system. Click on the A-Z databases link on the left to see the list of databases offered through the library. Databases you may find helpful include Opposing Viewpoints in Context, CQ Researcher, CultureGrams, JSTOR, Salem History, U.S. History in Context, World History in Context, and World Book Encyclopedia. Hennepin County Library card is needed to reserve books and for some database access.
- Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Search the encyclopedia for overview information on a topic. EBSCO password needed for remote access.
- Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
- History Reference Center
This database features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books. It also includes full text for more than 200 leading history periodicals. EBSCO password needed for remote access.
- Literary Reference Center
This database features an expansive collection of author biographies, plot summaries and work overviews, full-text essays from leading publishers, literary reference books and monographs, cover-to-cover full text for literary magazines and journals, book reviews from the most prestigious publications, poems from hundreds of sources, short stories, classic texts, author interviews, and much more. EBSCO password needed for remote access.
- MackinVIA ebooks
Search ebooks and databases for information and pleasure reading. Log in using your school username and password.
Search Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, and "Regional Business News" databases all at one time. EBSCO password needed for remote access.
- MLA Formatting Guide from OWL
Link to the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) for information and tutorials about citing sources within your text and for a Works Cited page.
- MnLINK Statewide Library Catalog
Search the library catalogs of libraries around Minnesota. Reserve materials with a Hennepin County Library Card.
- Newsstand Complete (Newspapers)
Newspaper articles from hundreds of papers including the Minneapolis Star Tribune, St. Paul Pioneer Press, Sioux Falls Argus Leader, St. Cloud Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Barron's, USA Today, and many more. ProQuest password need for remote access.
- OCLC / First Search / World Library Catalog and Databases
Search the online catalogs of libraries around the world. OCLC can tell you which libraries own the resource. Twelve additional databases are included under the database tab.
- Points of View
Use this source to learn about different perspectives on an issue. Points of View is a searchable index of over 1,300 main essays, leading political magazines from all sides of the political spectrum, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.
Browse by category to see an overview of the topics along with point and counterpoint essays to accompany it. EBSCO password needed for remote access.
- Professional Collection
This database is made up of more than 300 full-text journals with topics of interest to educators. Gale password needed for remote access.
- Professional Development Collection
Education journals and reports of interest to professional educators, researchers, and librarians. EBSCO password needed for Remote Access.
- Research Project Calculator
The Research Project Calculator is designed to help students stay on track with research assignments. Students can choose from the research paper, video project, or slide presentation templates or start their own assignment from scratch.
- Science Collection, General
Scholarly journals and popular magazines across all science-related subject areas. Gale password needed for remote access.
- Science News
Online access to Science News magazine. You will need to use our school log in to use this resource both at school and at home.
- Science Reference Center
Science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources covering numerous science topics for middle and high school students. EBSCO password needed for remote access.
- SIRS Issues Researcher Database
This site lines up both sides of an issue for easy comparison. Be sure to check out the A-Z list of Leading Issues to help you get started on a research project. ProQuest password needed for remote access.
- Student Edition
Containing over 1,300 titles, cross searchable with E-Books, this periodical database is designed for high-school students with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more. Gale password needed for remote access.
- Student Resources in Context
This is a great place to get a whole picture of a topic. Encyclopedia articles for topic overviews, current magazine and journal articles, as well as video, images, and audio are all together in one place. Gale password needed for remote access.
- Trojan Media Center online catalog
Search for books and ebooks within our Media Center collection.
Search government documents, research, and websites.