Last Updated: Jan 11, 2018
Use these resources to get started on your project. You will need passwords to access our subscription resources from home. Passwords can be found in the Media Center Canvas Course.
As you find articles, look for
- Clickable subjects
- Key words and related search terms
- Other articles, web sites, or authors who might be mentioned
- Citation button! Hooray!
- SIRS Issues Researcher Database
This site lines up both sides of an issue for easy comparison. Be sure to check out the A-Z list of Leading Issues to help you get started on a research project. ProQuest password needed for remote access.
- Points of View
Use this source to learn about different perspectives on an issue. Points of View is a searchable index of over 1,300 main essays, leading political magazines from all sides of the political spectrum, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.
Browse by category to see an overview of the topics along with point and counterpoint essays to accompany it. EBSCO password needed for remote access.
- Student Resources in Context
This is a great place to get a whole picture of a topic. Encyclopedia articles for topic overviews, current magazine and journal articles, as well as video, images, and audio are all together in one place. Gale password needed for remote access.
You will need passwords to access our subscription resources from home. Passwords can be found in the Media Center Canvas Course.
- Explora Teens
Contains middle and high school-appropriate magazine, journal, and encyclopedia articles and also includes primary source documents, reference books, and multimedia. Includes Middle Search Plus, MAS Ultra - School Edition, Consumer Health Complete, Health Source - Consumer Edition, and Science Reference Center databases. EBSCO password needed for remote access.
- *All EBSCO databases and ebooks
Search all 21 databases. Click the select all button in the top left corner or click on an individual database name. If you aren't sure which database to search, look further down the list where databases are listed and described individually. EBSCO password needed for Remote Access.
- Student Edition
Containing over 1,300 titles, cross searchable with E-Books, this periodical database is designed for high-school students with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more. This is part of the Gale database, but narrows the results for easier reading by high school students. Gale password needed for remote access.
- *All Gale Infotrac Power Search databases and ebooks
Search 14 databases and an ebook collection. If you aren't sure which database to search, look further down the list where databases are listed and described individually. Gale password required for Remote Access.
- Britannica Academic Encyclopedia
Britannica Academic Encyclopedia is an encyclopedia includes higher level information than the School Edition listed below. Encyclopedias are a great place to get background information on a topic. Password required for remote access.
- Britannica School Edition Encyclopedia
Search elementary, middle and high school levels of information in this encyclopedia. Encyclopedias are a great place to get background information on a topic.Password required for remote access.
- Newsstand Complete (Newspapers)
Newspaper articles from hundreds of papers including the Minneapolis Star Tribune, St. Paul Pioneer Press, Sioux Falls Argus Leader, St. Cloud Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Barron's, USA Today, and many more. ProQuest password need for remote access.
Download the MackinVIA app, too!
Here are some websites that you may find helpful in your research
- Library of Congress
An outstanding and invaluable site for American history and general studies. Contains primary and secondary documents, exhibits, map collections, prints and photographs, sound recordings and motion pictures. The Library of Congress American Memory Historical Collections, a must-see, contains the bulk of digitalized materials, but the Exhibitions Gallery is enticing and informative as well.
Search government documents, research, and websites.
- EasyBib School Edition
Online bibliography (citation) maker. Easy to follow templates walk the student through citation creation. The program also includes an outline maker and two note taking formats: Cornel and note card. Each student will need to set up an EasyBib account by registering with an email address and a password at school to receive the school premium version access. After registration the login and password will work from anywhere. There is an App available for i products to scan bar codes and create citations.