A - Z online resourcesTest Preparation
EL Research GuideFrancophone Countries ProjectGraphic Novel Character ResearchLiterary CriticismMythologyEnglish 10 Final Research ProjectSpanish - Holiday Customs ProjectHonors Mentor Connection
Applied English Life SkillsEAPPSSAGovernment & CitizenshipUS HistoryWorld History
Honors ReadingThe Voice - Student Literary Magazine
This is the "Literary Criticism" page of the "Trojan Media Center Home" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Trojan Media Center Home  

Last Updated: Jan 11, 2018 URL: http://libguides.wayzata.k12.mn.us/home Print Guide RSS Updates

Literary Criticism Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Tips and Tricks

Literary Criticism  

Literary Criticism is the art or practice of judging and commenting on the qualities and character of literary works.


General Search Tips:

Include the term criticism or summary to narrow your search results when searching for information about a title.

Include the term biography when searching for information about an author's life.

Resources in our Media Center Databases

Passwords for home access can be found by logging in to the Media Center Canvas Course.

  • Literary Reference Center
    This database features an expansive collection of author biographies, plot summaries and work overviews, full-text essays from leading publishers, literary reference books and monographs, cover-to-cover full text for literary magazines and journals, book reviews from the most prestigious publications, poems from hundreds of sources, short stories, classic texts, author interviews, and much more. EBSCO password needed for remote access.
  • *All EBSCO databases and ebooks
    Search all 21 databases. Click the select all button in the top left corner or click on an individual database name. If you aren't sure which database to search, look further down the list where databases are listed and described individually. EBSCO password needed for Remote Access.
  • *All Gale Infotrac Power Search databases and ebooks
    Search 14 databases and an ebook collection. If you aren't sure which database to search, look further down the list where databases are listed and described individually. Gale password required for Remote Access.
  • Britannica Academic Encyclopedia
    Britannica Academic Encyclopedia is an encyclopedia includes higher level information than the School Edition listed below. Password required for remote access.
  • Britannica School Edition Encyclopedia
    Search elementary, middle and high school levels of information in this encyclopedia. Encyclopedias are a great place to get background information on a topic.Password required for remote access.

Literary Criticism Websites

 

Search the Online Catalog

Find:
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Advanced Search
 

Search Our ebook Collection

Search Literary Criticism in MackinVIA to find online reference books with information about books and authors.  Most of the ebooks in our collection will work very much like print books - you just access them online.  Use the index and table of contents to see if your book and author are listed.

 

Print Books in Our Collection

Literary Criticism books are classified in the Dewey Decimal system with call numbers in the 800s.  Biographies of the authors would be in the 921s.  Some examples of helpful books are listed below.

Cover Art
Novels for Students - Diane Telgen (Editor)
Call Number: 809.3 NOV
ISBN: 0787616877
Publication Date: 1997-09-05

Cover Art
A Student's Guide to Ernest Hemingway - Timothy J. Pingelton
Call Number: 813 PIN
ISBN: 0766024318
Publication Date: 2005-07-01

Cover Art
A Student's Guide to Jane Austen - Connie Ann Kirk
Call Number: 823.7 KIR
ISBN: 9780766024397
Publication Date: 2007-07-01

Cover Art
The Best of Oscar Wilde - Oscar Wilde; Sylvan Barnet (Introduction by)
Call Number: 828 WIL
ISBN: 0451529340
Publication Date: 2004-05-04

Cover Art
A Student's Guide to Mark Twain - Mary Ann L. Diorio
Call Number: 818.409 DIO
ISBN: 9780766024380
Publication Date: 2007-02-01

Emily Bronte - Richard Benvenuto
Call Number: 823 BE
ISBN: 0805768130
Publication Date: 1982-06-01

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip