A - Z online resourcesTest Preparation
EL Research GuideFrancophone Countries ProjectGraphic Novel Character ResearchLiterary CriticismMythologyEnglish 10 Final Research ProjectSpanish - Holiday Customs ProjectHonors Mentor Connection
Applied English Life SkillsEAPPSSAGovernment & CitizenshipUS HistoryWorld History
Honors ReadingThe Voice - Student Literary Magazine
This is the "English 10 Final Research Project" page of the "Trojan Media Center Home" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Trojan Media Center Home  

Last Updated: Jan 11, 2018 URL: http://libguides.wayzata.k12.mn.us/home Print Guide RSS Updates

English 10 Final Research Project Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Explore A Topic

Your task is to explore a topic related to what you have studied in English 10.

Text: A Raisin in the Sun

  • Question: Who has power? During that time period, whose voice is discounted or silenced? Is there a connection to today?

Text: Persepolis

  • Question: Whose voice is missing? How would I better understand this material if I looked at this story from other perspectives?

Text: Night

  • Question: Who has power? How would I better understand this material if I looked at this story from other perspectives?

Text: Fahrenheit 451

  • Question: Who has power? What does the author want us to think?

Search our Databases

You will need passwords to access our subscription resources from home. Passwords can be found in the Media Center Canvas Course.

  • SIRS Issues Researcher Database
    This site lines up both sides of an issue for easy comparison. Search by keyword or use the A-Z list of Leading Issues to find your topic. ProQuest password needed for remote access.
  • Explora Teens
    Contains middle and high school-appropriate magazine, journal, and encyclopedia articles and also includes primary source documents, reference books, and multimedia. Includes Middle Search Plus, MAS Ultra - School Edition, Consumer Health Complete, Health Source - Consumer Edition, and Science Reference Center databases. EBSCO password needed for remote access.
  • Student Edition
    Containing over 1,300 titles, cross searchable with E-Books, this periodical database is designed for high-school students with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more. Gale password needed for remote access.
  • Newsstand Complete (Newspapers)
    Newspaper articles from hundreds of papers including the Minneapolis Star Tribune, St. Paul Pioneer Press, Sioux Falls Argus Leader, St. Cloud Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Barron's, USA Today, and many more. ProQuest password need for remote access.
  • *All EBSCO databases and ebooks
    Search all 21 databases. Click the select all button in the top left corner or click on an individual database name. If you aren't sure which database to search, look further down the list where databases are listed and described individually. EBSCO password needed for Remote Access.
  • *All Gale Infotrac Power Search databases and ebooks
    Search 14 databases and an ebook collection. If you aren't sure which database to search, look further down the list where databases are listed and described individually. Gale password required for Remote Access.

Searching the News

http://www.onlinenewspapers.com/usstate/usminnes.htm will take you to a list of Minnesota newspapers.  If you are following a praticular story, you can look at how it is reported locally and find more information closer to the event.

Other national newspapers that you can search include:

 

Search Tips for Primary Sources

Primary sources can give you stories of people's first-hand experiences as they relate to your topic.  You can increase your searching effectiveness by combining keywords about your topic with these keywords:

  • interview
  • transcript
  • blog
  • diary
  • letter
  • speech

Use OR or AND or NOT to combine keywords for your search:  interview OR transcript OR diary

Use quotation marks to add "primary source"  or "my story" or "it happened to me" to your search terms and see if that gives you some more results. Quotation marks also are very helpful when searching for people by name.

 

Using Social Media

What hashtags or social media accounts are associated with your topic?

  • @EverydaySexism
  • #covertheathlete (media coverage of female athletes)

Are there FB pages for organizations?

Use social media as a way to keep up with breaking information on your topic and find links to articles and interviews.

 

Citing Your Sources

Need help citing your sources?  If you use the databases, you can usually find the citation done for you.

For other sources, use EasyBib or visit the Purdue Writing Lab and follow the examples listed there.


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip